Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Hi, Folks. I'm new here 26 Feb 2021 17:00 #844157

• OldKowLTD
  • OldKowLTD's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
My name is Paul. I'm in SE Washington State. The wife and I are retired and spend much of our time fishing the Columbia and Snake Rivers. I've got a fair amount of mechanical skills and do a good bit of my own vehicle work however, the computerized whiz-bangs in the newer model cars and trucks leaves me scratching my head at times. I'm just beginning the first baby steps towards restoring an '82 KZ1000 LTD. It was a barn find. That may sound like a cliche but it's my barn. I bought the bike new in 1982 and put 37k happy miles on it. Then I sold it and it sat in a shed in Idaho for several years before I tracked it down and bought it back. He had only put a couple hundred miles on it because it was too much bike for him. It had been sorely neglected by the time I bought it back but I figured if I held on to it I might eventually be able to restore it to its original glory. I said a barn but Its actually a shop so that's where its been for several years. I haven't started the process other than pulling it out and taking a look. I believe it will be worth bringing it back to life. Having read a number of threads and articles, I'm am grateful to find this forum with so many knowledgeable enthusiasts. I promise to utilize the "search" function to try and limit the dumb questions I might ask. Thanks for letting me join. Now, if I can just figure out how to post a couple of pictures of it in all its dust covered splendor.

Attachment not found

Attachment not found

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hi, Folks. I'm new here 26 Feb 2021 18:08 #844160

• KZQ
  • Administrator
  • Walking Behind the Corn May Not Be All That!
  • Thank you received: 1271
Hey Paul,
Welcome to KZRider! I live five or six hours from you in Central Oregon.