• Page:

TOPIC:

Howdy everyone 13 Oct 2005 02:47 #1256

• Idaho_Spud
  • Idaho_Spud's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello fellow Kaw riders.

I'm a noob to KZ models and also to this forum, but I'm looking forward to learning/sharing a lot here. I've ridden bikes quite a bit over the years, but took a 10 year hiatus, as the wife took a dim view of my riding. My baby from high school, a 1976 Kaw KH500 triple, still sits under a cover in the garage.

I'm 44 yrs old, live in Bakersfield, and recently got fed up with paying a fortune to get back and forth to work. The wife softened her view on riding when I told her how much diesel fuel for the truck was costing us each week. After a lot of looking around, I picked up a 1979 KZ650 B3 with a fairing and a luggage rack.

After replacing the battery, getting both brake switches working, replacing the rear tire, and adjusting the air mixture screws, I *think* it's safe and reliable. I'm still waiting on some cam cover gaskets and tach drive gaskets to correct the oil leaks... the leaks can wait.

Overall I'm very pleased with this bike. It'll never be quite as exciting to ride as my triple, but it gets decent mileage (40 mpg), didn't cost too much, and best of all, it doesn't vibrate all the parts off like the triple does! :) The handling is very predictable, the power is adequate, and it brakes and corners nicely. It's a *very* nice friendly commuter bike. It's not a crotch rocket, nor a moped - just a reliable and predictable ride. What more could anyone ask for?

Post edited by: Idaho_Spud, at: 2005/10/13 05:48

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Howdy everyone 13 Oct 2005 03:57 #1259

• oldcuda68
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1