Help with painting KZ750 frame and wheels

• JohnLuke
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • 1982 KZ750N Spectre
More
07 Apr 2018 12:07 #781426 by JohnLuke
I plan on painting my whole bike. From the triple tree to the wheels and frame. Someone recommended I use the Finish 1 product from ACME. I was planning using the single stage Acrylic enamel in gloss black. Does anyone know if that is a good paint to use on the frame and such? I would assume it’s cheaper that power coating everything. Ik I need to buy a HPLV 1.4mm spray gun. I saw some from Summit Racing that look okay. It was 75$ or so. I assume that is mid range.

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• z1kzonly
  • User
  • Sustaining Member
More
07 Apr 2018 17:19 #781443 by z1kzonly
Replied by z1kzonly on topic Help with painting KZ750 frame and wheels
Good Luck, Good for you to try yourself! Singe stage paint is excellent! I have been using it for over 20 years. But are you sure enamel? Not urethane? And $75 bucks for a spray gun is cheap! I paid over $400 bucks for one of my guns. You can get guns with all 3 nozzles, that you can change out as you spray. 1.4, 1.6, 1.8. Single stage is great for small parts and frames. My HVLP can spray out 9-10 psi. Hit parts slow and direct! Like slow motion. My black flows like black liquid water! Plus you can water sand and buff single stage. And blend in on panels. Only draw back is metalic. Solid colors are the tits! Only ACME stuff I know of is what "WYLIE COYOTE" used on the "ROADRUNNER".
Just use anything car quality, that a collision shop uses! Dupont's "NASON" is my choice nowadays. Dupont Chromaone or PPG is real expensive. Go with off brand name.
JMO I started with lacquers in the mid 1970's.. Nowadays, you need to have a Chemist's degree to figure all the product out now!

Livin in "CheektaVegas, NY
Went thru 25 of these in 40 yrs.
I SOLD OUT! THE KAW BARN IS EMPTY.
More room for The Old Girl, Harley 75 FLH Electra Glide,