Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Restoring Front Master Cylinder 07 Dec 2005 06:11 #12138

• letthegoodtimesroll
  • letthegoodtimesroll's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
Is there anyway to get rid of the oxidization/discolouration of the front brake master cylinder? I have the plastic round one. Thanks!
1977 KZ650C1, Kerker Header, Dyna ignition and coils, GPZ 750 oil pan and cooler

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Restoring Front Master Cylinder 07 Dec 2005 06:20 #12141

• wiredgeorge
  • User
  • Thank you received: 44
I don't understand how you can get oxidation on a plastic master cylinder. I have a plastic rear master cylinder where the bottom is aluminum and it cleans up nicely but the cylinder itself is plastic and is nasty discolored... there is no way to restore the thing short of replacement that I know of. The discoloration seems to be part of the plastic and while mine works well, it sure doesn't look new although I polished up the aluminum bits so it isn't terrible.
wiredgeorge Motorcycle Carburetors
Mico TX
www.wgcarbs.com
Too many bikes to list!

Restoring Front Master Cylinder 07 Dec 2005 09:28 #12174

• GargantuChet
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
YES, you can. You're looking for "plastic restorer". Ask your local auto paint shop for details.

Don't be afraid of a paint shop, either. Some products are expensive, but there are cheaper lines of everything, and some things are downright cheap when you think about what it would cost to buy a good-condition NOS replacement for the part.

I understand doing things on the cheap, but it seems like many are afraid to set foot inside an auto paint retailer. Don't let the lack of a "-mart" at the end of the name scare you away! Even if you buy your paint at Wal-Mart, the paint stores have lots of tools to make surface prep easier, and are often eager to supply advice about technique to the novice.