Rear Shock positioning

More
07 Nov 2006 05:01 #90204 by KB02
Rear Shock positioning was created by KB02
Admitantly, I am not an engineer. However I do have a really cool idea for a rebuild of an old bike that I would like to do, but I have a question as to whether part of my idea is doable or not. For what I want to do, I need to move the rear shocks.

Now, the bike I am thinking of working on is a '74 (I believe) KZ400. It is currently sitting in my cousin's field, rotting away. I basically have a blank canvas for whatever I want to do. (I'm thinking Cafe racer/street fighter lookin' thing, yet small enough - it is a 400 after all - for a beginner to ride on). For the image I want, I need to reposition the rear shocks.

Basically, I want to lay the top end of the shock down toward the front of the bike. So intead of them sitting sitting at about an 85 degree angle, they'd be closer to 40 or 45. Would this be possible (pronouced, "Ridable") with the stock shocks? Or even at all?

Let me know what you all think.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Pterosaur
  • Visitor
07 Nov 2006 05:14 #90205 by Pterosaur
Replied by Pterosaur on topic Rear Shock positioning
The further the axis of a shock's piston action is angled away from vertical (90 degrees), the progressively less effective is becomes.

Angled at 45 degrees, it'd be acting more as a torsion bar than a shock absorber - more stress load being taken up in sheer than compression.

Taking a wild guess that the desire to angle the shocks is based in lowering the seat height, I'd let the height requirement determine the shock angle rather than the angle determine the height.

In any case, I'd try to keep the angle at 35 degrees or less....