Clubman questions for Cafe experts.

More
05 Mar 2011 15:17 #435246 by nbrider
Clubman questions for Cafe experts. was created by nbrider
I want to order a set of clubman handlebars, but I don't have very much money right now. So I was wondering if I could put all my controls that are currently on my 440 LTD handlebars directly over onto the clubmans? Not looking to much about looks at the moment because I will likely swap for new controls soon. Also, will my handlebar mounted blinkers be able to squeeze onto the handlebars anywhere? I don't know much about fab work to put them onto the headlights, and I don't have the money for new stems for the blinkers. (Sounds funny but I am really stretching it for the bars as it is... I'm a student..)

Thanks to everyone who offers advice!

1983 KZ440 LTD
Black paint- Soon to be something new!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Mar 2011 16:13 #435279 by mtbspeedfreak
Replied by mtbspeedfreak on topic Clubman questions for Cafe experts.
Everything should mount up fine, your cables and hoses will be waaaay long though. I don't know if the clubman's would cause the cables to bind, I'd just save up to buy everything at once. If you put the new bars on it, that much slack wouldn't carry ANY appeal. :)

2000 ZRX 1100
1976 KZ 900- Daily Driver
1980 LTD 550- Dalton Highway survivor!

If it has tits or tires, it'll give you problems!

• Rainman
  • Sustaining Member
  • and a little Kaw shall lead them
More
05 Mar 2011 16:23 - 06 Mar 2011 20:02 #435284 by Rainman
Replied by Rainman on topic Clubman questions for Cafe experts.
nbrider, the stock controls will work on the clubman bars but there is not enough room for the blinkers.

This is on a 750 LTD but similar.
The cables and brake hose take some creative re-routing but can be used and the LTD brake master cylinder will work with the clubmab bars.

Good luck,
Jim

80 KZ750 H1 - the Kaw calf
79 KZ750 Twin - Miss Nov 2008 KZR calander