Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Kz650 won't run for more than 15 minutes in town 18 May 2022 14:31 #867271

• mzarif650
  • mzarif650's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi everyone, this is my first time posting but I wanted to preface this post by saying thank you to everybody that has contributed do this form because it does help immensely with my project bike.I own a 1981 Kawasaki KZ650 CSR H1 and have loved every minute of the restoration and customization process. But recently my bike has been having some issues with how it runs.The engine will start up almost immediately just fine and after warming up, it will run fine, albeit with a bit of a hammering noise between 3000-5000 rpm under load (which I am also trying to chase down and fix). The issue however occurs when I run the bike for about 15 minutes around town, it seems to lose charge and dies, stranding me at the gym/store/etc.Now I have a few modifications to the electrics on this bike including swapping over to all LEDs and 1157 bulbs, having a running light as well as a night light and high beam (makes night rides much more comfortable for me), and likely the most important modification and where I believe this issue is stemming from: a dyna S DS2-2 ignition timing system with 3 ohm coils. I’ve read that this has been an issue with many KZ riders as it drains the batter due to a longer dwell time. However I only read about this occurring with single phase generators and I am certain mine is 3 phase. It also produces 50V A/C at all 3 test points but does have an impedance above recommended of 1.4 ohms. I have ordered a new stator to rectify this issue and I have also tested my R/R which is also up to par.I guess what I am looking for is to make sure that I am not missing anything obvious or if it could be anything else that I could check in the meantime.Thanks in advance, Marc

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.