76 KZ900 Continued Engine Problems - The Saga Continues

More
24 May 2007 07:38 #143070 by thetemples
I am just about to my wits end trying to figure out why my KZ900 doesn't perform right.

Disclaimer: I am no expert and am learning about these things daily, so if I appear ignorant, its largely because it is true. Any help or advice you can give would greatly be appreciated!

Symptom: The bike idles fine, does not miss a beat in neutral when you rev it, etc. Sounds great other than some backfire. However, when riding the bike and accelerating at a normal rate, in any gear, the bike gets to around 4-5k RPM and starts to lose power. When you get to this area of the throttle you can go wide open and it will quickly resolve the issue. However, if you hold the throttle at this RPM range, it will make a noise I am going to **try to describe. It almost sounds like some one smacking an empty beer can with a rock (from the top of the motor) (now that had to be the first time anyone used that analogy) - And at times, sounds like a 'sucking' sound is coming from the top of the motor, maybe even the carbs? The smacking sound happens just a few times when this happens, not dozens, but maybe 4-5 times. So maybe the beer can analogy might even sound like a clicking or slapping sound? This noise is never heard at any other time. Slightly lifting the choke does not help, however, putting the choke wide open does help a little, but I imagine that is no different than going wide open for a brief period. There are times that after riding the bike for extended periods of time (getting it really hot) that the bikes symptoms completely dissapear. I hope I described that the best I could. One other thing to note. The bike is really powerful and runs great when you are 0-70 in a hurry, its the normal cruising and winding the gears out to around 6-7k rpm that its most noticeable. I also get a lot of backfire (poping) when I decelerate.

Repair History to solve this issue: