83 kz1100 50kmi top-end service

More
01 May 2015 11:38 - 01 May 2015 11:45 #670299 by gravit8
83 kz1100 50kmi top-end service was created by gravit8
I've been putting off this service for a few years, but I couldn't ignore the oil pushing from the front of the head/valve gasket for another summer, especially as I prepare to head west and try living in sunny Portland, Oregon. Iowa winters and shitty roads have taken their toll on the rest my bike but it still runs. New coils and plugs last year put some pep back into the step but I managed to save some money up before moving, and I'd rather ride the bike than ship it. I figure instead of ship it, spend that same amount on repairs and enjoy the 2,000 miles trip.

I'm capable of working on these bikes but I live in a downtown apartment with no real facilities to spread everything out properly and do it right, so I reluctantly took it to our local powersports dealership. I made several visits feeling them out, some places can't or wont work on a 32 year old bike that looks as rough as mine. I knew full well what I was doing, but hoped I could get away with just a top end gasket change. Hahaha. Hope. ,