'77 KZ650 Troubles and Questions

More
17 Jul 2014 16:02 #640424 by krayneeum
'77 KZ650 Troubles and Questions was created by krayneeum
Hey all,

Sorry for the wall of text!! But I would really appreciate any insight you all have to offer.

I've got a 1977 KZ650 B, that is a looker but not running as well as it could. I'm new to mechanical work in general, so I'm not sure what my next steps should be.

1) First things first, previous owner removed airbox and put in pods. Still needs to be jetted for pods. I do hear popping coming form pods at times. Carbs and gas tank were cleaned by previous owner.

2) Excessive blow by-- smoke billows out of crankcrase breather filter. There's a 10 inch long tube with a pod filter at the end, and it looks like oil is bubbling on the filter when it gets up to temp. Should I replace the filter? Just changed the oil and the oil level is fine. I'm assuming this is caused by 3)

3) Low compression in one cylinder, wet test resulted in higher compression so it's probably the piston rings? I need to run the test again just to be sure, because I forgot to hold the throttle wide open during the last test :pinch: The rest of the cylinders are at about 150psi. Will retest when I get home tonight.

4) Needs choke or idle turned way up (at 3000rpm) in order to not sputter and die. Can get it to idle somewhat well at 2000rpm, but it gets dicey and it usually needs the choke.

5) Eats gasoline-- probably due to high idle and maybe fuel/air mixture being off? Doesn't seem like it's leaking anywhere, though there is a little residue on the outside of the carb bowls. No puddles or anything.

6) Random question: if you notice in the pic below, I've only got one throttle cable? Did a previous owner remove the second pull cable? It snaps back just fine, at any angle.
--