Advertised Drop In Cams NOT Dropping In

• larrycavan
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
25 Jun 2010 04:57 #378109 by larrycavan
Advertised Drop In Cams NOT Dropping In was created by larrycavan
In the past year, I've run into 3 different drop in grind cams that DO NOT drop in. 2 from one manufacturer and one from another.

On every one, it's #4 exhaust and #1 Intake tappet bores where they rub. They rub he valve cover bolt hole boss pretty hard.....

On another set of .400" lift cams, the sprocket bosses were thicker than normal and rubbed in the cam chain tunnel.

So watch out if you're buying drop in cams. Looks things over very carefuly. Q.C. [like most everything these days] ain't what it used to be... :(

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• testarossa
  • User
  • Attack life, it's only trying to kill you.
More
25 Jun 2010 05:08 #378111 by testarossa
Replied by testarossa on topic Advertised Drop In Cams NOT Dropping In
Larry, I have no experience with drop in cams, but I do have a lot of experience working in machine shops. All I will say is that when the sh!t hits the fan, the first thing to get dropped is the QC. I'm guessing that over the last two years with business being slow, there are a lot of QC guys in the street. At one point I worked in a shop with no QC whatsoever for about 7 months. The parts went straight from the machine to the finish shop and on to the customer. The last guy to put a mic on the part was the guy who made it. Unacceptable!

1978 KZ1000 A2 Click--->Build Thread
2004 ZX-10R
2007 Harley Sportster 1200
2020 Harley Street Glide Special
Angola, IN

• Motor Head
  • User
  • FIX UP YOUR BIKE RIGHT AND CHEAP
More
25 Jun 2010 06:08 #378120 by Motor Head
Replied by Motor Head on topic Advertised Drop In Cams NOT Dropping In