Safety...at what price?

More
27 Jul 2011 13:30 #465287 by clickster
Safety...at what price? was created by clickster
Went for a ride yesterday and saw a sight that is becoming more and more common. This fella was in my rear view riding a big touring bike with the headlight that constantly cycles between highbeam and low beam. It was very annoying and I can imagine how oncoming traffic felt about it. I had a quick stop to make so I didn't have to endure long. As he passed I noticed he was wearing an optic yellow jacket and pants with reflective tape sewn all over it. This thing is so bright I'm pretty sure it can be seen from space! Really fella, if you are so scared then what is the point of riding!!!

I started riding on the road when I was sixteen because I enjoyed the excitement of being on a small quick vehicle. I'm 49 now and still ride for the same reason. I grew up in Oregon but have lived all over the US and spendt about half my adult life in Europe. I have always owned a motorcycle and have toured on some of the fastest and most dangerous roads in the world (try Amsterdam traffic in late afternoon or Boston during the mid-90s) so I know the dangers of the sport. But it is a sport, not just a way to get around, and each rider has a responsibility to develope the skills to deal with the dangers out on the road. I don't think wrapping yourself in optic yellow, refelective tape and flashing lights is the answer, you just look like a freak.

I cannot understand these super-safety-freaks.

'79 LTD 1000
'69 BMW R50 (previous)
'84 ZX900 Ninja (previous)
'81 Honda CBX (previous)
'79 KZ1000 (previous)
CSR 305 (previous)
Bigfork, Montana

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• KZQ
  • Administrator
  • Walking Behind the Corn May Not Be All That!
More
27 Jul 2011 14:08 #465299 by KZQ
Replied by KZQ on topic Safety...at what price?
I agree with you clickster. If you think bright clothing will make you safe, when is it bright ENOUGH?