• Page:

TOPIC:

Cheap Jackets 09 Jul 2007 12:00 #155689

• fishybass
  • fishybass's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi all,

I am a newbie looking into clothing and wanted your thoughts.

I've had friends tell me to buy leather because you would rather have the jacket wearing against the pavement than your skin. Sure, good point.

But, I want to wear something bright for visibility, want something that can breathe because I sweat badly in summer, and am trying to pay no more than $150. So fabric seems like a reasonable choice. But is it durable?

Any recommendations on brands, websites, fabric choice, etc.?
Are there typically big sales in motorcycle gear at the end of summer?

Thanks for any thoughts.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Cheap Jackets 09 Jul 2007 12:09 #155690

• unkle fester
  • User
www.newenough.com look under closeouts...then textile jackets....helluva deals

Cheap Jackets 09 Jul 2007 12:47 #155703

• Virii
  • User
  • I like cheese
  • Thank you received: 1
I've personally really grown attached to kevlar . Breathes well, it's comfortable, light. You can wear it under an overshirt and put a safety vest on over that which makes the transition out of your gear quick and painless.

It's resilient enough to be implimented thinner, but many people find they prefer something thicker for piece of mind. I believe that regardless of how physically comfortable you are and how much people will tell you you're protected, if you aren't emotionally comfortable, that's reason enough to keep looking.

Denim offers practically no real protection, so if that's a concern, going kevlar means you'd also be looking at kevlar lined jeans and the combo puts you around the $200 range for one set.

Post edited by: Virii, at: 2007/07/09 15:49
Tess: 1977 KZ650-C1. VM24, 97.5/15/3rd. Dyna-S. Stock exhaust, coil mod performed, BR7EIX.

Angel: 1982 GPz550. Stock. DR8EIX.

Cheap Jackets 09 Jul 2007 14:29 #155725