• Page:

TOPIC:

New to bikes; have a 77 KZ1000 LTD 06 Apr 2007 20:42 #127218

• MidnightBlue
  • MidnightBlue's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi,

I'm twenty years old and I'm new to motorcycles. I was recently given a 1977 KZ1000 LTD by my best friend's Dad who had stored it in 1985. It is in good shape, the paint looks very nice; its Midnight Blue. It will need to be gone through before I attempt to start it. The engine turns, the brakes work, and I'm able to put it into gear. I need to locate a good parts source, can anyone recommend one? I also do not know anything about bikes so I'm hoping to pick up some information here. One of my good friends rides a bike so I will have him to help me out but I do plan to take a safety course once I start riding it.

I attached a picture of the bike after a slight cleaning. The chrome and paint have come up very nicely because of all the layers of wax. I removed the sissy bar and reinstalled the plastic body part that goes over the fender. I'm not sure what happened to the original chrome piece, I will have to ask.

Thanks,

Justin

Post edited by: MidnightBlue, at: 2007/04/06 23:43
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New to bikes; have a 77 KZ1000 LTD 06 Apr 2007 20:46 #127220

• pstrbrc
  • User
  • '81 GPz 1100 project
  • Thank you received: 9
Welcome aboard! May I be the first to say,
PICTURES! WE NEED PICTURES!
Oh, and for parts?
In order:
  1. Z1Enterprises
  2. Dennis Kirk
  3. E-Bay
Look under [links] to the right for #s 1 and 2

Oh, SURE, ad the picture while I'm typing! God'll get you for that!:blink: :ohmy: (whoops, I didn't say that. ssssshhhhhhhh)

Post edited by: pstrbrc, at: 2007/04/06 23:47
\'81 GPz 1100 project
Elkhart, Kansas USA
\"Man does not control his own fate. The women in his life do that for him.\" Groucho Marx

New to bikes; have a 77 KZ1000 LTD 06 Apr 2007 20:51 #127222

• Klaus42
  • Visitor