• Page:

TOPIC:

Speedo Issue 14 Apr 2014 11:46 #629001

• jgraham232
  • jgraham232's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello Everyone,

I am new to these forums so first off Hello to all :)

I bought my first bike last week, a 83' KZ550 A1.

It has some minor issue with the carbs I am working on but have gotten it to a ridable point.

I now have an issue that has popped up that is keeping me from passing inspection.
My speedometer gauge to the left of my RPM gauge has stopped funtioning. All the electrical functions work such as High Beam Light and all the other lights on the gauge, but the Odometer has topped working, the trip counter has stopped working and the speedometer doesnt work. The RPM gauge is fine though so i am just using that for now.

Any thoughts as to what could cause this? Is there a certain cable i need to buy, or a new cluster of gauges?

Sorry if this question seems simple, I am brand new to Motorcycles and am already spending a bunch on the carb work.
Strap up, Sit down, Ride Smooth.....

1983 kawasaki kz550 spectre shaft

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Speedo Issue 14 Apr 2014 11:56 #629002

• MFolks
  • User
  • Thank you received: 540
Most bikes of this year, have cable operated speedometers. I'd disconnect the cable from the front wheel gearbox, and the instrument. The inner cable should pull out of the outer cable. Look for broken cable strands. A new complete cable should be available at www.z1enterprises.com if necessary.

If you're going to use it again, wipe it down with a rag soaked in pain thinner & re-grease with some high temp bearing grease, and re-assemble it, making sure the ends fit the instrument & front wheel gearbox.
1982 GPZ1100 B2
General Dynamics/Convair 1983-1993
GLCM BGM-109 Tomahawk, AGM-129A Advanced Cruise Missile (ACM)

Speedo Issue 14 Apr 2014 12:03 #629003

• 650ed
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2828
Welcome aboard.