Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Keihin CV34 valve seat 24 Mar 2017 11:07 #757562

• Setton
  • Setton's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 15
No eBay APP ID and/or Cert ID defined in Kunena configurationI know some carburetor models have replaceable intake valve seats. Do Keihin CV34 carbs have them? Before trying to clean it, I'd like to try to source a replacement just in case.

In case I'm not using the correct terms (I'm self taught and mostly know what I'm doing, but I don't know all the correct terms), what I'm talking about is what the needle on the float pushes up into to stop the fuel from flowing into the bowl when it reaches a certain level.

The person who sold me the bike said that I don't need to clean it, I can just replace it with this:

and I'm not entirely sure that's the case... It says it only fits late 1970s to 1980 KZ900 and KZ1000. I don't know what kind of carbs those bikes used, but the float needle does not look the same, as the ones I've always seen for Keihin CV34 have black rubber cone tips, not metal cone tips. I'm also not seeing the little wire bracket that holds it on to the flange that comes off the float. Of course it's conceivable that the needle might be different but the seat is the same...

So in the interest of just being sure... does the Keihin CV34 carb even HAVE a removable seat, and if so, will this fit?

I'm going to be pulling the carbs off tomorrow to try to clean it in an attempt to stop the last of several fuel leaks (I've fixed all the others so far), but I'd like to source a replacement in case something goes wrong.
KZs I own
1982 KZ750-H3 LTD (frame's bent, no longer rideable, RIP)
1982 KZ1100 LTD Shaft (thought it was a Spectre)
1988 KZ1000 Police
1989 KZ1000 Police (basket case)
2002 KZ1000 Police

Non-KZs:
1983 Hondamatic 450
2001 Honda Rebel

I don't understand soup. Put a flower on my nose.
The following user(s) said Thank You: GPz550D1