Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

1981 kawasaki kz750e leaks. 09 Jan 2017 21:15 #751833

• Kisa
  • Kisa's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Okay first off I have never worked on a motorcycle before so forgive my ignorance.
I am working to restore a 1981 kz750e that belongs to my father. I have a small list of questions for those willing to help a guy start riding.

Several years ago my father was doing a break job on the bike and noticed a leak at the fuel tank connecting carburetor 2 and 3 on the carb 3 side of the T. He was and still is unable to fix it due to a back injury. It has been sitting ever since with just a tarp covering it.

I just took on this project a month and a half ago. I managed a temp fix of o ringz and Teflon for the fuel t. I've seen several variations of this T available online but never the original.
Does anyone know if we can use the fuel T made for a different year?

Next I have the number 1 carburetor leaking almost to the point I'd call it draining from the overflow nipple. I took the carb apart and clean it up the best I could but it's still leaking. I don't believe it is the float hight because my father had them don't at a local shop.
Can a bad needle cause leaking just from the overflow?

Lastly I am wondering about the diaphragm in the slide carbs. Number 1 (the leaker) has a small (1 or 2 centimeters) torn spot. I've seen multiple people say they use gorilla glu, others say plasti dip
Can I use either of these to fix the torn diaphragm until I can afford the replacement?

Bonus questions can the torn diaphragm cause the fuel leak?
What are some of the best ways to clean all the oxidation off the bike.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Kisa. Reason: Added more detail/ back story.

1981 kawasaki kz750e leaks. 09 Jan 2017 23:10 #751839

• TexasKZ
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 2051