Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

80 KZ750 LTD racing idle 21 Sep 2016 18:08 #743146

• kantrol
  • kantrol's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
I'm new to both motorcycles and carbed engines but I've read about this a bit.

I've got an issue with my bike where it will start with no choke and idle for a few minutes. After that, the idle will increase to gradually to 4000. I can get it to return to 1100-1200 by putting the choke on and then taking it off. The idle will increase shortly after the choke is taken off until it gets back up to 4000. The bike is mostly stock, but has pod filters installed in place of the stock airbox.

edit: I went out and inspected the petcock vacuum line. The line is in good condition. The material is pliable w/ no cracks or other damage to it. The petcock pulls vacuum off of two carbs. 1 and 3. #2 has a line on it but its clamped off with a bolt in the end. I guess the PO did this when he installed pod filters.

I've read about this sort of issue on the forum and tried most of the diagnostic steps.

1-The throttle snaps back and the racing idle doesn't go away no matter the position of the handlebars. I don't think the issue is cable binding.
2- Vacuum leak at the carb boots. I've sprayed WD-40 around the boots and detected no drop in RPM.
3-Advancer. I disassembled the advancer and checked that the weighted arms move freely. They do. I lubed the arms and reinstalled. Started bike and issue remained.