Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Idle Adjustment Help: 87' KZ305 LTD 17 Jul 2016 12:48 #735267

• Benzi_Box
  • Benzi_Box's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi everyone, I am new to motorcycles, just bought a 1987 Kawasaki KZ305 LTD belt drive bike because I wanted to learn this summer, and thought it looked super cool. When I bought it, it would start but would not idle. So, naturally I cleaned out the carburetor and reset the jets. Now, it starts and idles, but at 3000 RPM, which is not good. I am getting very confused because diagrams in the service manual I have are not accurate to what I am seeing on my bike. I am having trouble with the idle adjustment screw.
Here is my Left Carb

Attachment leftcarb.jpg not found

Here is my Right Carb

Attachment rightcarb.jpg not found

I see nowhere on the side here to adjust the idle, only the vacuum plug screw. However, my service manual has this picture.

Attachment ccb5f597-9261-4817-a6a8-5363b87f5123.jpg not found

That screw is not on my bike. However there is also a hand turning screw that is labeled as an idle adjustment screw. My bike does have this screw which is pressing down a spring, however it appears to be stripped or damaged. It is screwed down pretty tight and there is no knob to unscrew it. I should have taken a picture of it when I took off the carb, but i didn't. I will though next time. It is directly between the two carbs. Here it is in the manual.

Attachment 899415d4-5cf3-49b7-89f4-5a6dc1dea982.jpg not found

And in relation to the other carb parts.

Attachment e0608036-f1f2-47d8-aea5-5c42d5bbf1b2.jpg not found

Ok, so I know you must be thinking, well, obviously I should replace the idle adjustment knob screw that I hightlighted in the pictures. But, I can't find it anywhere on any part shops. All of their diagrams for my model bike don't have that knob screw on them. Here is a link for reference.