Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Tweaking flat acceleration louder not faster. 29 Nov 2015 10:58 #701102

• Newton
  • Newton's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Ok - so I am not a mechanic - but I try. 81 KZ750e. I got a needle and jet kit. The last step says to turn the fuel mixtue. "3 - 1/2 turns". Do you think that means 3 and a half turns or 3 half turns.? Normal setting is to back it out two full turns - right?

So i did 3.5 turns. Smelled rich no power.
Did 1.5 turns. No power off the line without reving and in second additional throttle means louder - not faster. Decelleration has backfiring once he is hot.

While in the process of dicking around pretending that I know whatI am doing, i bought a 4 carb sync gauge set. Took me a while to figure out that with three adjustment screws and 4 carbs that the idle speed screw counts as the adjuster for the number 2 carb. Tok me another while to figure out that I should use the vacuum nipples and i could stop looking for screw ports. Anyway - when I had him all connected he would show 2 lbs pressure and would only get out of the red (on the littlegauge) when i rev'd to about 2..5 k.

I read about using carb cleaner to locate a vacuum lean on that part that connects carbs to motor - no leak.
Eventually i just was satisified to have all carbs acting the same - though they registered low.

Did i check the float level? Nope i guess i will get on that.
Did my kit include pilot jets? Nope just needles and main jets - is that a problem? I did remove soak and clean them.
Are the little rubber plugs over my pilot jets compromised? Yep sure are. Is this a problem?
Am i sick to fricking death of pulling the carbs off? Yes i sure am. Its a pain i want to get pods.

Currently bike is at 1.5 turns backed off air fuel mix. Louder doesnt mean faster. I am thinking i have this totally wrong but 1.5 turns. And 3.5 turns is a huge difference, i am surprised it even runs at both.