Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

kz 550 pissing me off. really weird things ,heelp! 29 Jan 2016 09:25 #708471

• shamal
  • shamal's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2
hello mates, im a newbie on the forum, but not so much about bikes.. this time i need really help. first of all sorry for the poor english!

i hate her. damn!!!!!!
the strory is......
i had the old 550 with lack of compression, so i decided to totally rebuild the engine.
new things i did:
piston rings
lapped head
head gasket (yes i RE-thightened the head !)
base gasket
valve lapped
cam chain, bearings, oil seals.... ALL!

triple checked the valve timing, i'm sure it's correct.
triple checked valve clearance, it's ok!
compression test - HOT engine: 170-175-175-175 PSI

ignition coils tested: correct ohms in both windings.
pickup coil (has a broken magnet) but value ok.
igniter show ohms values according to manufacturer manual.

CARBURETORS:
i'm ***king sure they are TOTALLY clean, totally stripped, ultrasonic bath, boiled in vinegar, new orings in the fuel line. BENCH synced.
i clean them million times. pilot circuit is ok.

new spark plugs D8EA.
new ignition leads, NO resistor tipe.
new plugs caps NGK 5 KOHM
new battery

basically, the thing that happe its the same problem i had BEFORE the total dismantling. haunting me!!!!!!
when i start the bike, the idle SUCKS!!!! really, it was like a old clunker with seized rod.. TA_TAAM_TATA_TAAAM . ok, i think ''i have just to sync her'' but, EXACTLY AS BEFORE , when i put the vacuum gauge hoses on the carburetors port, it simply doesn't work , the gauge random stop rising on one or more cylinder. :(

i'll explain better:
the engine start with NO difficult, then i press the choke plunger in. the idle is almost impossible to achieve: she floats between 500 rpm and 1500 rpm.