• Page:

TOPIC:

Uh Oh! Starter Clutch!! 20 Mar 2009 11:05 #273704

• MikePotter86
  • MikePotter86's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Two wheels move the soul.
  • Thank you received: 0
In my delightful first ride of the season yesterday i had not a single problem, everything was great, aside from a few little rattles, but I think I might have a problem with my starter clutch.
This morning i got out and started my bike, and after then engine started running for about a second it made sort of a grinding noise, sort of like a car when you try to start it running. I have started it a few times since without the noise, but i fear it is doing permanent damage.
As many of you know, I am not a mechanical whiz, and I wondering what you think I should be doing to fix this problem.

Some other factors that may come into play here are the temperature, which was around 33 degrees, and my starter button replacement job last fall just before putting it away. my starter button fell out broken and I had to sort of glue it back in, could this be it?
Thanks Guys,
Mike
Michael L. Potter
1981 KZ 750 LTD
South Lyon, MI/ Bloomington, IN

www.flickr.com/photos/potterm/

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Uh Oh! Starter Clutch!! 20 Mar 2009 11:23 #273706

• MFolks
  • User
  • Thank you received: 540
Could be several things; from having the starter engaged while the engine is running, or some screws on the backside of the starter clutch backing out rubbing on the engine cases.

The first could be repaired by replacing the start switch or the entire right pod on the handlebar. The second by removing the left side engine case,pulling the stator magnet and inspecting the starter clutch.

What's your model and year of your bike?
1982 GPZ1100 B2
General Dynamics/Convair 1983-1993
GLCM BGM-109 Tomahawk, AGM-129A Advanced Cruise Missile (ACM)

Uh Oh! Starter Clutch!! 20 Mar 2009 11:50 #273709

• MikePotter86
  • User