Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

ER's 1983 Kawasaki GPZ750 Build Thread 20 Aug 2014 12:32 #644618

• globalsunset
  • globalsunset's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
Earlier this year I acquired this 1983 Kawasaki GPZ750 off of craigslist as part of a bundle deal with a KZ750 of the same year. My buddy took the KZ and I got the GPZ. I figured I'd start a build thread given how much I love reading them. Some day I'll probably enjoy looking back at the progress. I'm a bit of a novice, learn as you guy type person.

Photos from the pickup.. I was not there.

It did on run on arrival... and in addition, needed a brake overhaul, an airbox, turn signals/headlight/taillight and some new tires.

Wheel her outside...

Trying to get it start once I had all the hosing hooked up.. gas coming from the funnel. The tank needs some rust removing love.

She fires! And a bit of seafoam love..

$60 later, new starter relay. The old one had a big rusty hole in it... any clues as to how this would've happened? The other two, and the rest of the fuses look fine.

Since then, the following has been done:
-New Sparkplugs
-Oil/oil filter change
-New Battery
-Used airbox from a member of this forum.. thanks!
-Air valve that goes to the airbox and the associated plumbing

And now it idles OK, but doesn't like being revved. It'll either get really rough, or just die. I'm assuming it has some vacuum leaks and a slight fear that I will need to rebuild the carbs. The plan is to get it running before it gets to cold, have a few joy rides, and then get down to details over the winter.
1983 Kawasaki GPZ750
2001 Ducati 748

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by globalsunset.

ER's 1983 Kawasaki GPZ750 Build Thread 20 Aug 2014 12:39 #644619

• globalsunset
  • User