1980 KZ1000 frame
KZ1000 tank (80' or 82' not sure)
1982 KZ1000 motor
1982 KZ1000 Carbs with cone filters
2004 GSXR1000 swingarm (modified), wheel and brakes
2000 GSXR600 triple trees, fork, wheel and brakes
1-7/8" Dakota Digital Speedometer/Odometer
1-7/8" Dakota Digital Oil Temp Gauge
Shorai LFX19A4-BS12 which Im hoping has enough CCA since im new to lithium iron batteries

This is how she looks right now. I have mounted the front rotors since this picture

Attachment IMAG0654.jpg not found

Attachment IMAG0655_2014-02-17.jpg not found

This is how the GSXR1000 swingarm used to look before I modified it for a dual shock setup.

Attachment 936354_10151918895884937_611316864_n.jpg not found

This is one of the brackets I designed to mount the shocks. (The bolt isnt the final size, just didnt have the right size when I took this picture)

Attachment IMAG0659.jpg not found

I cut off the hole for the ignition on the GSXR600 upper triple tree and cut two 1-7/8" holes in it between the support ribs to mount my gauges in.

Attachment IMG_20140216_175019.jpg not found

I was tossing around ideas for steering stops and I am currently experimenting with the idea of using steering dampers as stops. I figure I will mount the body of them to the frame on both sides and mount the front end to the fork tubes using canabalized clip-on handlebars (recycling is cheap haha). This way I will get the advantages of the steering damper AND I will have steering stops. I will just mount the dampers so that they bottom out where I want the steering to stop.

Attachment IMG_20140216_174830.jpg not found

Attachment IMAG0680-1.jpg not found

I have never done anything like build a motorcycle before so I am learning as I go. Luckily im pretty creative and have a mechanical mindset. If anyone has any unique ideas throw them at me and let me know what you think of my project so far :)
Currently riding:2006 Kawasaki 636
Current project: 1980 Kawasaki KZ1000
Attachments: