Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

New Member St Pete, FL! 29 Apr 2016 22:32 #723696

• Head Freq
  • Head Freq's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
EDIT: apparently this forum doesn't like imgur's linking procedure after the .jpg...working on it right now

Hey all, new member from the dirty south.
Just picked up a '78 KZ650SR that needs some electrical gremlins sorted out.
16k miles, engine has been rebuilt and runs brilliantly, and I got her for $800.

I'm fairly new to bikes, but not new to working on vehicles. I've had multiple Miatas that I've done most of the work on (including a full engine replacement on one), as well as a few other vehicles. Got a '94 XJ 600 Seca II a few months ago and that's becoming my girlfriend's bike, and that was my introduction to riding. Can't get enough of it now!

I wanted a project I can make my own (I love cafe racer builds and have for years) and I love the potential in the KZs, plus it's a little different from the usual CB builds.

Here is the bike, with the XJ next to it.

Dug into her a bit...the tank will need some surface rust cleaned out but it isn't too bad...my worry is the lights. Headlight, tails, and blinkers won't go. Tach, neutral, and fuel warning lights work though and the fuses are good, so I'm thinking relay? The starter is really finicky but I can kick-start it comfortably so I might just remove the starter altogether. I've got some work ahead of me to get this bike where I want it, but I think it's worth the money I got it for just considering the engine is A++

Doesn't look too bad there, but here's where it gets a little hairy

I've been consulting the wiring diagram that's on this forum (I'm super glad that both this and the .info forum exist and have these files readily available) and in the span of a couple of hours sorted out some of the wires. I need to get in there with a voltmeter and figure out exactly what's going wrong.

Cheers guys!